November 10, 2007 – Mountaintop

It should come as no surprise that the 10 was also a nice sunny day on the mountain. There were some changes we observed; the yearling fillies of two families weren’t with their families.

The dun yearling filly from Santa Fe’s family and the grulla yearling filly from Prince’s family weren’t there.

Santa Fe family

Prince’s family

I’m not sure which families these yearlings are with now, but I know they aren’t with Lakota, Duke, White Cloud, Coronado, Bolder, or 4 bachelors as I saw these horses as well.

The biggest surprise of the day was seeing a horse I was thinking may not be alive anymore – Bigfoot. He was dogging Bolder’s family, which is what he was doing the last time I’d seen him in August. He has a great spirit in that he is still trying to get a family even though his knee is so injured.

Bigfoot

Earlier in the summer, I learned that Bigfoot once had a mare who died shortly after having a foal. As we have seen in a couple other occasions, Bigfoot tried to take care of the foal. Unfortunately, he just couldn’t be successful; but it really does show the importance of family to the wild horses.

Bigfoot

Beyond that, I don’t know much about Bigfoot other than he is likely the father of Zeppelin and Duke. He is also frequently seen in the area northwest of Penn’s Cabin, and I had heard of him being spotted there after I’d last seen him.

Bigfoot

I apologize for not taking too many other pictures; I was mainly focused on Bigfoot. I just parked myself under a tree and watched and photographed him for a while as I don’t have any really great pictures of him.

Today, the 13, it is very windy and the wind chill here in Lovell is 7 degrees. I can’t see the mountains at all, so I am hoping they are getting some good precipitation.

It’s been pretty obvious lately that I’ve not been able to make any trips to see the Bighorn Canyon horses lately. It just gets dark so fast now that I can’t make my evening trips out there. Hopefully I will be able to make it out there sometime this week as I’ll be leaving for a couple weeks this weekend.

Published in: on November 13, 2007 at 11:12 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://pryorwild.wordpress.com/2007/11/13/november-10-2007-mountaintop/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Thanks again for the updates! nice to know that bigfoot is still around despite that injury.


Leave a Reply

