October 1, 2008 – Lower Sykes Ridge

I’ve been trying to find Sitting Bull for a while now, and I had focused two trips prior to my October 1 trip on finding him. There were two big reasons I wanted to see him. The first reason for this was that someone who had been lucky enough to see him saw that his mare Cecelia was looking very pregnant. The second reason was that I just wanted to see him. I hadn’t seen him in months, and I just wanted to see how things were going. Sitting Bull is one of my favorites, and the reason I like him is because he is wild and elusive.

I was thus very happy to get a glimpse of him on the first.

His daughter from 2006 is getting big and looking great. She is the one that was born in December of 2006.

The best surprise was that Cecelia had foaled, though.

The foal is a colt. He is a very dark bay like his mother and big sister. He has no white on his feet, but he has a really unique star that I think looks like the “Dipper” constellations.

After watching the foal, I figure it was probably born during the week of September 7. He’s actually not the only September foal. Shane’s grulla mare Moshi had a dun filly foal.

Duke’s black mare Atlantis had a bay colt foal in September too.

This brings the 2008 foal crop to 31 born. With 4 of those foals missing, there are currently 27 foals on the range.

Published in: on October 3, 2008 at 12:30 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://pryorwild.wordpress.com/2008/10/03/october-1-2008-lower-sykes-ridge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

