Bettina: Lori’s Story (told by Nancy)

Lori Graham recently emailed me with these photos of a Pryor foal. She said, “I have been going through some of my old, old photos and came across this one. I took it on the Dryhead and think the foal was born in 2001 since I took the photo in 2002. I wonder who it is? Any ideas?”

Lori’s Foal Photo

When I first saw the foal’s picture, I initially thought it was Besa. However, I knew that Besa had been born in 1999 and removed in 2001. So I asked Matthew. He looked back through the records and found out this was Bettina. She was the 2001 foal of Sam and Hightail. No wonder she looked so much like Besa. They were full sisters. Another interesting note is she was born one year after her older brother, Admiral. The sad part of the story is that Bettina didn’t survive.

I passed this information along to Lori. She, too, had thought it might have been Besa, but was glad to hear the foal was a full sister to Admiral. She said, “I do wish she could have survived to reproduce more from that bloodline. Life is hard for them though and the strong survive, sad as it may be.”

Lori said she took the pictures while visiting, before they moved to this area. She remembers being struck by the beauty of the foal and felt so lucky to have been able to capture her with her camera.

I, too, appreciate that Lori got photos of this little Pryor horse and that she gave permission to share the photos and her story. Knowledge of this foal adds to the historic record of the herd. Lori’s closing note was, “I think it makes a good story on one beautiful little filly who unfortunately did not survive.”

Bettina, 2001 foal of Sam and Hightail

Bettina, 2001 filly of Sam and Hightail

Published in: on December 2, 2013 at 7:08 am  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://pryorwild.wordpress.com/2013/12/02/bettina-loris-story-told-by-nancy/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thank you for both for sharing this story — and thank you, Lori, for going through old photos. I didn’t realize Bettina had not survived — I thought she was removed 😦

  2. Thanks to you and Lori for sharing this story and pics. Little Bettina no doubt would have been another beauty. It sure would have been great to have her still roaming the Dryhead for us visitors to enjoy, and to carry on the bloodline, like Lori said. It’s kind of interesting that the she and Besa’a names both started with B, even tho the alphabetical method wasn’t begun until 2000, the year after Besa was born. πŸ™‚

    Not knowing what actually caused her demise, and judging by her very healthy appearance, I’d guess it was probably an accident of some sort, (like a fall off a cliff), rather than that she wasn’t strong enough to survive. Of course, there’s always predation, where a young horse may be very healthy and still become a victim just because they’re smaller. And then there’s the element of chance, where the prey, or the accident victim, (like Admiral/Kapitan, Plenty Coup), may just end up in the wrong place at the right time, no matter how strong and healthy they are. I guess I’m more of a believer in “if your number is up, it’s up”, than I am in the “survival of the fittest” thing. Being fit and strong definitely DOES APPLY, but is not exclusive in their life (or death) stories.

    Anyway, it is great to see these pics from way back and to hear about them. I truly wish I had been able to pursue my interest in the horses much sooner so I could have seen many of the ones I can now only hear about—and the people, too. πŸ™‚

    • Boy, I sure didn’t proofread that first paragraph very well. lol!

      And I do want to add that I’m also aware that an animal can appear to be very healthy, and not be, too. Their problems can show up later, as in the case of Rose’s Liberty. I’m sure her condition was not at all apparent to begin with, and also that without Rose’s TLC, she would not still be with us.

      Life is truly a precious thing to be very thankful for. πŸ™‚

  3. Thanks all. : ) I had come out here that year to look at our now “home” and it was in January of 2002. We did end up buying this house and moving out here in 2003. At the time that I took this photo, I did not know much about the Pryor wild horses, but was struck by how beautiful they were, and are. Since then I have learned a great deal about them and still feel blessed every day that I live so close to them.
    I am happy to share and will go through even more of my “old” photo’s.
    Yes Linda, Life is truly a precious thing!!!

  4. Actually, these photos were from my old “floppy disc” camera and I am having to go through them little by little…I have many, many floppy discs. πŸ™‚ Ancient technology!!


Leave a Reply

