October 27, 2010 – Herd Updates

It’s been a while since I posted on the horses themselves, so I thought I’d put some photos up of things that have stood out to me lately.

Late last month, a surprise new foal was born on the mountain to Quelle Colour in Lakota’s harem.

Quelle Colour was very protective of her new foal, both around people and around other harems. This sometimes happen, and so I just remain patient and wait a while until I can determine the markings and sexes of these new foals. I was able to see that this new foal was a filly the next week after finding the Lakota’s harem down in the lower parts of Burnt Timber.

There were a number of harems in this area, which is around some of the new water developments. These horses were also getting their minerals by eating the soil; this is a major area for minerals for the horses.

Among the horses in the area were Guinevere and her colt Knight. These two have remained an independent group for most of the time since after Knight was born. I’m not totally sure of why Guinevere and her foal are doing this; there were many other harem stallions and bachelors in the area this day as there have been in other days.

One of the harems in the area was Cabaret’s.

The sorrel stallion Fortunatas was also there; he is acting as a satellite bachelor for the harem still.

I was really excited to see these horses down so low on Burnt Timber. This is the only Forest Service harem left, and they now are living on and exploring the Range. I think it is time to classify the harem as a Burnt Timber harem and not a Forest Service harem. Before he left for the Forest Service lands, Cabaret was a Burnt Timber bachelor; and so it makes sense to see him down there like this.

Wild horses aren’t the only animals I’ve seen down low on Burnt Timber lately; I saw these Bighorn Sheep near the road during of my trips this month.

In one of my last posts, I talked about Exhilaration being relocated to the top of the mountain due. Well, Exhilaration was recently found back with those domestic mares; and he was put back on the Range again. He is now spending his time in the Lower Sykes area where he had been prior to his relocation.

The day I took that photo, I also saw Exhilaration’s younger half brother Jesse James with the bachelor Hickok. They weren’t too far from Exhilaration, and I think  it would be neat to see these three bay bachelors together.

Up higher in the area were some of the other Dryhead bachelors. Fools Crow kept a watch on Medicine Bow and Hidalgo, who were down below him.

Medicine Bow has come a long way since he had his leg injury and was thin earlier this year.

Hidalgo is a son of Durango. He has been a bachelor since August.

Prior to this week, the weather had been very nice still. I even saw a rattlesnake out there exactly a week ago.

This week, though, it has gotten colder; and the mountain has snow on it. I like to leave the horses alone for a little while when these first winter storms hit, but I will be back with some new photos soon.

Published in: on October 27, 2010 at 2:01 pm  Comments (17)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://pryorwild.wordpress.com/2010/10/27/october-27-2010-herd-updates/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

17 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What a lovely filly! I love the shot where she’s so upright and curious. Is she a true black or will she be dark brown? Either way, she’s a real beauty.

    Matt, you don’t know how much I needed this today. I live in NM, and have been trying to come to grips with what’s happening to Governor Richardson’s efforts on behalf of our state’s wild horses.

    I keep your posts on file and open them when I’m feeling down. This came at just the right time.

    • Hello,
      I think she will be a true black, much like her older brother Galaxy. I’m happy that these horses help to cheer you up. I hope that things work out with these New Mexico herds you are referring to.
      Matt

  2. Beautiful pictures. They all look so healthy. I will be worrying about these late foals with winter approaching.
    Thank you Matt!

    • Thanks for commenting! I think that this little filly has just as good of a chance at survival as some of the earlier born foals. She’s from a good harem that winters in a good area.

  3. Oh, Exhileration, what are they going to do with you. What a character. What if he won’t stay on the range?

    • Well, I can’t say for sure! I am just hoping he stays on the range. The BLM has been very patient with him and his given him a lot of “second chances.” So let’s just hope people close the gates behind themselves and Exhilaration stays put.

  4. Beautiful Filly! Looks so curious! Such a cutie….Of course all the other pix are so awesome! Love to seem them doing so well!

    • Thanks for the comment; it’s good to hear from you! The horses really are doing well this year.

  5. Great pictures, thanks for sharing. Quelle Colour’s foal is a real cutie!!

    • Thanks for your comment. I am happy that you enjoyed QC’s foal!

  6. I hate to see these little ones born right before winter sets in. Heidi Hopkins (HSUS expert on PZP) gave an informational talk in Denver last summer, where she explained that they had 90% effectiveness with PZP immunizing in the Cedar Mtn. Utah herd in their study. She said their success rate (fewest out-of-season births and prevention of births in treated mares) was dependent on correct timing of administration of PZP– Fall: late Sept. and no later then Dec. 1. Is there a similar time frame for the PZP administration for the Pryor herd?

    • Linda,
      It’s good to hear from you. A lot of treatments that happened in the Pryors were in the summer or early fall. Most of the treatments in 2007 were done in July. The timing of the Pryor treatments was for logistical reasons as well as pushback from litigation. I guess the answer to this question may come in the years to come as the proposed fertility control program here calls for treatments to occur in the springtime.
      Thanks!

  7. How far were you from that rattlesnake when you took the picture?

    • I think I was about 10 feet away when I took that photo. Far enough to not worry about him since he wasn’t very happy.

  8. Love the pictures. Love the wild mustangs. I hope some day to travel to Wyoming to site see some of these incrediable species. Keep up the good work. I have read all of your blogs and check everyday for an update. Great job!!!!!!!!!

  9. Hey There! I used to be a ranger at Bighorn Canyon and really treasured my time there, getting to see the mustangs every day. I got to see the late great Stallions Plenty Coupe and Sam many times, and though it was sad, greatly appreciated your posts about their fates and the lives of their descendants. Thank You!

  10. Does Half Moon have a foal or is she infertile?


Leave a Reply

