September 17, 2009 – Photos of Adoption Horses

Just a quick post tonight – Here’s a collection of photographs and some information on the horses available for adoption. This is a document put together by the BLM for this adoption.  The document can be viewed by clicking here. New: Here is a chart with our names and ID numbers that correspond with the neck tag numbers that the horses are listed by in the aforementioned PDF.

Here is some more info I am just going to add on to this existing post too: All of the Pryor horses in this adoption will be adopted. This includes the older horses that were unfortunately removed. There are people, including the Mustang Center, who are working to get these older horses into really good homes.

Also, I’ve had questions on the treatments the horses were given by the veterinarian. They got a 5 way vaccination and vaccinations for strangles, West Nile, and rabies. They were also given a treatment to be wormed and had Coggins tests done on them.

Published in: on September 17, 2009 at 12:33 pm  Comments (42)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://pryorwild.wordpress.com/2009/09/17/september-17-2009-photos-of-adoption-horses/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

42 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I just don’t understand the reason for removing the older horses. With the current horse market it would seem the BLM contract for this gather might have specified only removing horses that stand a chance of adoption in the current equine market conditions. One more thing that makes no sense.

  2. You are working for the horses. May the force be with you!

  3. Matt, you have done such a great job thru all this bally hoo. I think because of all the fuss there, they are not allowing any observers for the South Steens gather in Oregon. We were invited and then uninvited. Makes me sad. Am happy you found Beauty but am worried about Lone Wolff. He looks sad.

  4. Are the rest going to be adopted out or do the kill buyers already have them? Nice job!

  5. An amazing lot they took off the Pryor. I can’t believe they took off the Palamino yearling colt though especially because it seems to be such a rare color up there.

  6. Are there any blue roans elsewhere on the PMWHR now with the Forest Service horses rounded up?

    Linda

    • There must be. Blue Sioux was not in this bunch.

  7. Matt,

    Thank you for posting the link to the photos. They are all SO beautiful – however I think maybe BLM doesn’t know the difference between colts and fillies! It seems that there is a photo of the exact same black yearling w/a star once labled a female once a male. Or there is a set of twins! Wouldn’t that be neat! Anyway thanks for your continued assistance. Is there an expected price range that they are predicting these special horses will bring at the adoption?

  8. Conquistador, Cavelitta, Grumpy Grulla, Go, Trigger, Shane, Evita, Mae West, Meeteetse, Moshi, Mystery, Sierra & Floyd deserve better than “really good homes.” They deserve to be returned to their lands. Please continue to fight for their freedom!!!

  9. Why were 19-year-old Conquistador and 21-year-old Grumpy Grulla removed? Also, on the pryormountains.org site under Recent Damage-The Lost Water Canyon, it is stated, “The Lost Water Canyon RNA is already stressed by the illegal trespass of the Pryor Mountain horses.” Were any of these horses “trespassing”?

    • Viewing the photos posted on their website pryormountains.org, it looks like the ATVs’ are doing the damage, not the “trespassing horses.

  10. I too want to know WHY Conquistador, Grumpy, Trigger etc. were removed? I thought the BLM focused on removing younger horses and horses whose genetics were already well represented in the herd.

    Who is left on the range representing the genetic makeup of these older horses? It was my understanding they represented a very different genetic makeup from the others.

    MATT, WHY?

    Cattoor has been quoted as saying he brought in what his contract specified. If that is so, why did not anyone fight harder to preserve this important genetic subpopulation?

    As for the BLM’s change of heart regarding the Steens roundup I say it is our tax dollars paying for these roundups of horses on public lands. I would be calling my reps again and again if the BLM has indeed changed the rules.

    I think it was a very very good thing that people witnessed the Pryor roundup. People need to know what is going on.

  11. Great post Matt! I’m glad to see all the older horses will be adopted. Iposted a few photos on my blog of the mustangs when I was out there in early august. If anyone is interested in viewing its http://sabinalouisepierce.wordpress.com/

    sabina

  12. I REALLY believe the older horses- Grumpy and Conquistador and the rest, were simply in the wrong place at the wrong time. They lived in an area where there are to be NO horses- so they had to be removed. If released- they would go back, and apparently they are not wanted there.
    The fact that their unique genetics will be dispersed and lost- apparently makes no difference.

    No- they don’t deserve “Really good homes”, they deserve to GO HOME! They were there first!

    Matt- you know these horses- can you see any one of those older horses in a dirt corral somewhere for the rest of their days? With people trying to make them do things-trying to train them? They are wild horses!
    Younger than 8 or 10, I believe have a good chance at training, but a 19 year old stallion, a 21 year old mare? Why on earth would they be submitted to that? To me that is the absolute HEIGHT of cruelty!

    I know you did your best with a bad situation, but really… it just stinks.

  13. This whole fiasco really upsets me. The first time I saw Cloud (I just got the dvd) I was amazed at how big he is, he’s not thin by any means, and that wonderful crest.

    If someone adopts or buys a horse next Saturday are they required to NOT SET THE HORSE BACK FREE??? I wish I could be there and that I had funds to buy one–so I could return them back to mountains.

    These horses have for hundredes of years figured out what to do in drought years, and in plentiful years. So why are we intervening???

    Also in a sick way I was amused when I read that statement about how the Pryor Mountain horses “trespassed” in the Lost Canyon…

    Margaret

  14. To heatherinNS, I TRULY hope you, and everyone following this saga with such fervor in support of the horses, are also addressing your comments and questions to the BLM and Forest Service, and maybe even the Pryor Mountains Coalition, not just to Matt. THEY need to know first hand what Americans are thinking, and how many of them are thinking that way. There are many good suggestions and email addresses on the Cloud Foundation website, and others about the Pryor Mt. mustangs. And the websites of the government organizations and individuals in them usually have a “Contact Us” tab. We need to be using them, and keep on using them. We need to educate ourselves and keep asking the good questions.

    My hope is that someone will come for the older horses who will turn them out into an area, even a fenced pasture, where they will live out their days just being the beautiful creatures that they are. Yes, they will lose their beautiful freedom to run until they can’t anymore in any direction they choose, but in return, they will not have to be subjected to the extreme demands of Mother Nature in the wild—lack of water, extreme cold in the winter, prey animal predation, etc. First choice would be let Mother Nature take her coarse, but civilization just can’t allow that anymore. We need beef for the table, so the Forest Service accepts payment for the use of the land from cattlemen. MONEY TALKS. If I had a lot, I’d pay the going rate per head for cattle to graze there for each horse to be left where they were. But I don’t have it, and I haven’t found any really rich persons who are willing to give up their wealth in such a way. I hope one sees this post and comes forward with an offer.

    I am just sooooo thankful that the Pryor Mountain Wild Horse Range exists at all, and for the local people (Pryor Mt. Wild Mustang Center), and those all over the country, and world, who are trying to look out for these unique animals. May the Force be with us all.

    Linda

  15. I was shocked to see so many horses from the same bands being gathered. So much for genitic viability. I understand the horses need to be gathered but use some common sense.

    Matt I am thankful for your efforts and the postings. I wish you had time to post more often. I would also love to see some of the lineage you have collected.

    I know theses horses will all be adopted just because of who they are. I pray they all get good homes but we also need to remember the other herds as well.

    Matt if you and your people had not been there the results might not have been so good. I wish there were witnesses at every gathering. Thanks again and keep up the good work.

  16. Linda:
    I’m not an American, but yes- I”ve signed petitions, written the BLM, your President and First Lady, don’t have any info for the Forest Service so I haven’t tried them, and of course I’m keeping up with the Cloud foundation.

    Please understand– I’m not attacking Matt- who got handed lemons and is trying to make lemonade, I believe. I’m just venting, because really- it isn’t fair.

    No, life isn’t fair, but the horses could be paying for the ranchers need to feed their animals- with their LIVES. They don’t understand they need to be on the other side of a fence- they go where they go- they are wild horses!

    Now– they are penned, diminished and depressed, families torn apart- and the BLM is going to make money this weekend off their unique colours and colourful history- again- not fair!

    The BLM does little to “manage” mustangs as they were mandated to do- they just “gather” (I like “harvest”- it’s a more honest designation), pen, adopt or sell, pen for even longer, and very possibly ship the 3 strikers (not adopted in 3 tries or older than 10)- potentially to slaughter/ or be euthanized. Why bother with catching them, at all? Why not release every single horse over the age of 10- so there won’t be any Sales Authority horses?

    The BLM had 33,000 horses in long-term holding!?! Maybe/Maybe not- seems difficult to get actual numbers from them, now. But they really don’t need to add to their miserable collection in yet more holding pens!

    I’m pretty much done now, until we get some real answers- Matt- I remember the blog you took down and re-did (on the 3rd?) – I’m waiting for you to address the things you wrote, then removed. You said you would address them later- just wondering when later is?

  17. I have been waiting for more comments too. But my current question is this. Does any one know what has happened to the foal who had been attacked by a mountain lion and had the huge wound on his neck? HOw did he fare in the flurry of the round up? Did he survive the extra stress?

  18. To Heather, if you wouldn’t mind sharing, what and where is “NS”, and how did you first learn about the Pryor Mt. mustangs? It gives me hope to see that people EVERYWHERE are really interested in these horses, and doing what they can to help them.

    Most of my comments in my last post were not directed toward anyone in particular—I was just venting, like eveyone else.

    To anyone who’s interested, I’ll just reiterate here, that the people involved in the Pryor Mt. Mustang Assoc. and the Pryor Mt. Wild Mustang Center do a great deal for them, behind the scenes and out of the limelight. I don’t know of ANYONE else who has as much “boots on the ground” knowledge of their situation and interest in saving them from extinction. What may appear to some as lack of interest in something is most likely rather the result of prioritizing of issues, due to factors those of us involved on a limited basis and from far away places(like Wisconsin)are not even aware of. I’ll look to them for guidance until it’s proven to me that someone else has a more thorough understanding of the issues at hand.

    Linda D

  19. Heather, a link that’ll get you to the US forest Service is http://www.fs.fed.us.. They are in charge of the Forest Service land that the “trespassing” horse families were removed from.

    Linda

    • Where was I just reading that the Forest people thought those horses that drifted from the range were NOT going to be removed permanently. . . they were as surprised as everyone else. They just wanted the horses back on the designated range.

      • I shall go “in search of” . I think I was probably following links in a shlepping way. . maybe my browser kept the info. . . back later.

  20. Yes, where? I’d like to read that also. If it’s accurate and reliable, there might be some other good info there to…

    Linda

    • This is a cut/paste job from The Cloud Foundation Blog — where Tracie Interviews Ginger (a PDF easily found on http://www.thecloudfoundation.org): and I quote:

      TRACIE) What happened in the Forest Service lands, with the bands in the Custer
      National Forest?

      (GINGER) It’s unfortunate that the end of the round up was too late for all of the
      beautiful bands that live in the Forest Service lands. The BLM indiscriminately removed
      every single horse off Commissary Ridge. Those horses will have lost their freedom
      forever unless we can turn things around. It was a very wrong thing to do and it was a
      surprise to everyone. It was rude and unnecessary. According to a Forest Official they
      did not know that they were going to permanently remove those older animals. They
      indicated to me that yes, they had asked for the horses to be removed from that area,
      but she did not know that they were going to permanently remove the older horses.

      (TRACIE) Had the Forest Service asked for a relocation of the older horses?

      (GINGER) Yes, all the horses but when I mentioned that 21 year old Grumply Grulla and
      19 year old Conquistador had been removed, the official indicated to me that they were
      not aware that this was going to happen. I trust that they were being forthright because
      we’ve found that the Forest Service officials have been far more civil and willing to give
      us the time of day and to not be aggressive and/or not get in our face trying to be
      intimidating. We welcome that because we like to think that we can sit down at a table
      and work and play well with others. That’s the way you get things done.

  21. Correction in spelling: Yes, where? If it’s accurate and reliable, there might be some other good info there TOO…

    And perhaps a good question to ask the BLM.

    I do know it would be difficult to accomplish that, due to the difficulty in even having fences in some of that area and then getting the public to adhere to the signs posted to CLOSE GATES after they go thru them, (which should be just common sense). As someone commented earlier, the horses don’t know about all this BLM/Forest Service stuff, they just want to be where they’ve always been.

    Linda

    • Linda, see above (Tracie/Ginger interview)

  22. I’ve got a couple quick answers to some questions posted here.

    Before the gather, there were 14 blue roans. 4 were removed, and so now there are 10 blue roans.

    If you adopt a wild horse, you can’t just turn it back on the range. From what I understand, you will get in trouble if you do this.

    The Forest Service horses were technically trespassing. They were off of their designated herd management area, and this is against the law. As for any damage that they have caused, I can’t say too much about this. It’s a big area that does likely get more precipitation than most of the wild horse range. Commissary Ridge got its name for a reason.

    • I’m sorry but this really makes me laugh. Has anyone told the horss that they were trespassing???!!! I mean really if they didn’t know better–maybe if someone knew how to speak horse they could relate this idea to them that there are specific areas that they mustn’t go to…

      Still the actions of the BLM is astounding. I think they are a government organization that has run amok and they need to have some kind of oversite committee to check out there recent actions.

      • Well, it is sort of funny; but I think it is more sad than anything. Here’s what’s unfolded over recent years – The north boundary fence (the buck and pole fence) was in disrepair. Virtually all of the Burnt Timber and Sykes horses will end up leaving the range at some point during the summer. Some of these horses spent less time on the range and more time on the forest, and eventually they stopped spending much time on the range at all. So really, in the case of most of the horses removed from Commissary, this is what happened. This is definitely a topic I will elaborate on more in the near future.

  23. Janet: Who is Tracie? I haven’t quite made the connection yet.

    More of my thoughts: I can’t help but wonder just how the Forest Service officials thought someone could “remove, but not permanently remove” those horses from the Forest Service land…Was someone supposed to go up there every day and chase them back onto the Wild Horse Range every time someone left the gates open, or for a certain number of hours, or a certain part of the day, or one week a month or what? This is PASSING THE BUCK POLITICS as usual the way I see it.

    I’m glad the FS will at least talk to Ginger about this deal, and the horses, but TALK IS CHEAP. I want to see some ACTION. The Forest Service official in charge needs to actually get out onto the Pryor Mt. Wild Horse Range once and look a couple of these horses in the eye, and watch them for a few hours, eating, sleeping, playing, snuggling, sniffing noses and running free, like I and many others have. The experience would find a path into their soul and they’d never think about this the same way again. I’m sure of it.

    And, like Matt says, the area the “trespassing” horses were in is much more inclined to withstand extreme weather patterns. Therefore, it’s my opinion that the horses’ being there was not THAT much of a problem, except for the people who want it to themselves, and don’t happen to like the horses. Not EVERYONE in the area of the Range does. That’s why the rest of us have to make more noise than they do.

    The people in a position to make decisions regarding these issues need to consider the fact that a large number of the visitors to the Big Horn National Recreation Area and Custer National Forest, the Pryor Mountain Wild Horse Range and the Pryors themselves, come there hoping to see the horses, along with the other beautiful features of the area. And that number is NOT getting any smaller as time goes on. There are many beautiful and regal stallions, loving and matronly mares and adorable colts and fillies.

    My personal favorite is Jackson, who exhibits the coyote dun coloring with dorsal stripe, wither stripes, etc. that harkens back to the markings of the very first horses to return to this continent after a long absence of the species. These horses bridge the gap between us and a very distant past.
    It would be VERY WRONG to let this link slip away.

    The friends of the Pryor Mt. wild mustangs have an honorable purpose. Let’s keep it up until the job is done.

    Linda D

    • Linda is absolutely correct in saying there are many people who do not want any horses off of the range in those areas of Custer. It isn’t quite as black and white as it is often made out to be. There are many different stakeholders involved in the Pryors. Also, I can say that talks between managers and officials regarding expansion of the range has been taking place for some time. We still continue these talks too; we met with BLM and Forest Service managers and officials earlier this summer to further discuss these issues. The way the law is currently written, it is fairly difficult to expand a wild horse area. Despite this, I do think that it will eventually happen. However, this will not be happening overnight. I also feel that the current area the horses have has a lot of potential as well in holding more horses.

    • I don’t know who Tracie is. . . .perhaps a radio personality?

  24. If the ROAM act passes does this mean there will be an expansion of the wild horse area?

  25. Best of luck to everyone tomorrow who are pulling together to get all of these horses adopted. I wish I could be there with my bid number! I will be thinking about you all day and watching for any updates. Thanks Matt for all the hard work!

  26. To Linda Dombeck- “NS”- is NOVA SCOTIA- go to a map of North America- look UP and to the right of Maine, sticking out in the ocean– in Canada.

    Wish we could offer sanctuary to these horses- our Sable Island “ponies” have flourished for centuries, cut off from the mainland and living on a nearly deserted small strip of land in the Atlantic ocean. (Google Sable Island)

    The difference- we Canadians recognize and protect these National Treasures– there are only a few people living on that island, and the horses are not to be removed from the island, protected by our government! How different we are from Americans in that way! In a horrendously harsh environment- these horses live and die without human intervention, approx 300 head, descendants of shipwrecked horses.

    Yes- people all over THE WORLD are watching this gather and the upcoming adoption debacle tomorrow.

    I can only hope that the older horses will find refuge. I fear that they will be adopted…and I fear that they will not, too. The saddest thing is they could theoretically go on the road and be offered at other adoption events, and end up part of some (figuratively speaking) “dog-and-pony show”.

    For the younger horses- I’m ok with them being adopted out, the older ones need to be returned to their range- they never should have been removed to begin with…

  27. Heather: Silly me, I should have known that, but just couldn’t think of anything for NS off the top of my head. Probably has to do with the fact that I haven’t been using world maps or studying world geography for close to half a century. I did recognize the name as soon as I saw it, tho, and knew right where to look, so my memory is not totally gone. If it were, I’d never have been able to find my way to the PMWHR, and back to Wisconsin.

    Your island sounds like a wonderful place, and I’m sure the story of the horses (ponies) who live there is VERY interesting. I’m going to have to google it one of these days when I have more time. They are so fortunate to be cut off from the mainland and left alone and allowed to be totally wild. Are visitors allowed to go there AT ALL?

    One of my neighbors when I lived in Illinois for a time was from Canada. He was perfect, and so was his native country, but suprisingly, he never went back there to live.

    In the interest of the older horses from the Forest Service land, I hope that the FS gets more interested in what they’ve done, and grants at least those horses a reprieve until something can be figured out to accomodate a little grazing by the Pryor Mt. mustangs along with the other uses of the land. That’s what I’m asking for, and I know many others are, too.

    Your friend in support of the Pryor Mt. mustangs, Linda D

  28. Sable Island:

    Because Sable Island is so far out to sea, it’s very hard/extremely dangerous to get to by sea, and few planes can land. My father was a pilot, and I begged him to take me there 35 years ago- he said I didn’t have enough money to! (I was 10)

    Some think the horses are Spanish descendants, as well- ship wrecked hundreds of years ago. It’s known for sure they’ve been there since the 1700s. While we as a people are proud of Sable Island, it is a place that not many of us can ever go to, at present. (That could change in a few years if legislation changes.)

    Let me find you a good link…

    http://www.greenhorsesociety.com/

    Has info on the horses and the island. I think it’s by Biologist Zoe Lucus, who lives/lived there studying the horses.

    Sorry, Matt- I know this has nothing to do with the Pryor Mountain horses- but it’s interesting BECAUSE in a place where there are absolutely NO predators of any type- the horses regulate themselves. Less foals, higher mortality- the herd remains healthy, and is in one of the wildest places on earth!

    How I wish there was a Sable Island for the other displaced horses of the world, protected, pristine still…

  29. how is stiles doing???

    • Stiles is doing great! He’ll be going down to New Mexico around the first of December, and we are looking forward to him getting to go to his new home. I’m hoping I will be able to spend some time as the Monero Mustang Sanctuary in late December so I can see how he is doing.

      • thats great!!! where exactly in New Mexico is he going?? I hope that his trip goes well and he can finally be settled back down somewhere and live out as good a life as possable.

      • He’ll be going to the Monero Mustangs Sanctuary, which is near Tierra Amarilla, NM. We’re very excited for him, and it isn’t long at all until the first of December.


Leave a Reply

