September 17, 2009 – Mountain Updates

I have made trips to the mountain on the 11th, 15th, and 16th. There are only two harems I’ve not yet seen up there since before the gather, and they are two harems that weren’t ever gathered. I will continue to look for them. I thought I would post some photographs and information on some of the things I’ve thought are of interest.

As has been mentioned, Baja’s mare Bacardi and her filly foal were not brought in by the helicopter due to the foal’s small size. The two ended up being taken in by Coronado. Below is Bacardi and her foal with Coronado’s harem.

Just a day or two after this, Bacardi and her foal rejoined Baja. I don’t find this too surprising at all really. Halcyon’s foal, who is pictured in above too, is doing pretty well. The first time I saw her after the gather, she was a little tender on her feet; but I think she is doing very well after having saw her last on Tuesday.

Brumby, the mare that tied up, is also doing very well now. Her foal, along with a few other foals, is still a little tender; but I think they will be just fine.

Something I’ve noticed that I find very interesting is a relationship the bachelor Fiesta has developed with Flint’s harem. When I first saw him on the 11th, he was with the other bachelors. However, this week he almost seems to be acting as a satellite bachelor for Flint. Sometimes bachelors will follow a harem around, but Fiesta actually seemed to be working with the harem. Satellite bachelors are one of my favorite things to observe, and so I will be interested to see where this goes with these two.

I’ll be posting specifics on the gather later, likely today; but I’d still like to talk a little about horses that were never gathered. These were horses that the helicopter couldn’t really push down the mountain. From what I understand, they would just slip away. It’s likely that they could have been gathered, but I understand that the BLM did not want to have any accidents occur from pushing the horses as hard as would have been required. Below are Doc and Custer’s harems (Doc’s grulla mare is just out of the photograph). They, along with a number of other horses, never went through Britton Springs. Some of the horses that were never gathered would have been removed had they been gathered. Horses that had been gathered were removed in place of these individuals. The yearlings in each of these photographs would have likely been removed had they been gathered.

I’ll be heading up to the mountain again tomorrow, and I hope to see the two harems I’ve not seen. There was a new foal reported in by the BLM during the gather operations, and so finding this foal is one of my main priorities right now.

Published in: on September 17, 2009 at 11:16 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://pryorwild.wordpress.com/2009/09/17/september-17-2009-mountain-updates/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

