September 11, 2009 – Trip to the Mountain

I made a trip to the mountain today before going out of town for the weekend. I will be leaving soon, and so I have to cut this short and hold off putting any photographs up.

I was able to see many horses on the mountain today. Some of these were ones that had been gathered, but I also saw some for the first time since the gather had taken place. Some of the foals are still looking a little tender when they walk, but I really think that they will be fine. I found that Bacardi and her foal, who had been separated from Baja during the gather, are now with Coronado. It will be interesting to see if they end up staying with him or if they will end up back with Baja eventually. I spent some time watching Brumby, and she seems to be all the way back to normal. It’s definitely different being up there with so many horses absent.

I really am sorry for not being able to answer any emails sent to the Center. I just have not had a chance. I have received a number of inquiries on adopting a horse from here. This is great to see this much interest! To get more information on adopting a wild horse from here, there are a couple things I would recommend. Going to the National Wild Horse Adoption Day Web Site (http://www.nationalwildhorseadoptionday.org) will provide you with some specific information on adopting a wild horse from the BLM. Also, you can call the BLM’s adoption coordinator, Nancy Bjelland, at (406) 896-5222 for further information, applications, and the like. 54 horses will be up for adoption. 3 of these are mares that will also have foals with them. The adoption will be on September 26th at Britton Springs, and so there is still time to prepare to adopt a Pryor horse at that time.

I will post more updates next week. Thank you for all of your time and support!

Published in: on September 11, 2009 at 4:31 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://pryorwild.wordpress.com/2009/09/11/september-11-2009-trip-to-the-mountain/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hope you have a great weekend and thank you for the update.

    So happy to hear Brumby is OK. Thanks for posting.

  2. Have a relaxing weekend. My guess is that as well as the wild horses, you need to recover from this whole week. I’m looking forward to future posts.

  3. Hi Matt: I just wanted to take the chance to say thank you for all that you are doing! (I went on a tour with you about a month ago and it was the best part of my trip! I was there when Coronado’s foal got separated and ended up with Stiles.) I’ve been reading your blog regularly and appreciate all the information you’re passing on to us. I know this has been a difficult time for you, so I hope that you’re able to enjoy your weekend away. I will continue to visit your blog, so keep up the great work…I think you’re doing an amazing job with everything!

    By the way, how is Coronado’s foal doing??

    Thanks again!
    Jessica (and Ariel)

  4. First, thank you for the great updates! I love your blog!

    I had a question about the adoption date set by BLM. Why are they rushing them out? I thought they had to hold the horse for 30 days in order to give the 2nd booster shot series to them before they are adopted out. This is very important for them as they get relocated and probably won’t be able to be given at their new home within the time frame for the shots to be effective. I wish I was able to take on one more now and hope they all find great homes.

  5. I have been haunting this blog hoping for updates on the horses returned to their ranges. I know you are probaly busy with other things but many of us would love to know how the horses are doing.


Leave a Reply

