February 24, 2008 – Burnt Timber

On the 24th I decided to try as hard as I could to get up into the Burnt Timber area in hopes of seeing how some of those horses. I’d not been up there since early January, and on that day I only saw Lakota’s family. My previous attempts at getting up there were stopped due to the amount of snow and mud on the road. However, it seems as though someone’s been having a little fun breaking drifts out there; and so I was easily able to make it a pretty good distance in. I ended up hiking a few miles in to get to Cheyenne Flats, where I was anticipating there would be some horses.

The first family I saw was Starman’s. They were relatively low in an area that you often see horses this time of year. Starman watched his family while they grazed and ate snow.

Starman

Rosarita

Guinevere and Half Moon

Besides the two mares and the filly foal, Starman still has the 5 year old stallion in the group.

Capp

A good ways up, I saw Chino and his family on a nearby hillside. In his winter coat, Chino and his mare demonstrate well the difference between buckskin and dun.

Chino’s family

Chino’s family

In this general area, I also found Lakota’s family. They were below a rock outcropping, and so it was a little difficult to photograph them.

Lakota’s family

The foals are getting big, and I think it is neat how close the filly is getting to her mom in appearance.

Lakota’s family

From this location, I was able to look west to an area I understand is called Jim’s Farm. I saw some horses out there. This area is an island ridge that is between Crooked Creek Canyon and Burnt Timber Canyon. Due to the lighting and my only using binoculars, it was hard to determine which horses I was seeing. I think it was Tecumseh’s family, though. I’m planning a way to get out there to see if I can find any other horses in the area.

Making my way up, I finally arrived at lower Cheyenne Flats. When I arrived, there weren’t any horses to be seen. However, a few minutes later, I saw a foal head peek up over the edge of the flat. Soon horses started moving up onto the flats, and it was White Cloud’s family. I just parked myself onto a patch of dry rock and photographed them as they moved up. He still has his family of 3 mares, 2 fillies, his 2 year old daughter, and his 3 filly foals.

White Cloud

His 2 year old daughter looks really striking now in her winter coat. The black and dun are his fillies.

Bailey’s and Firestorm

Fettucine

The two original foals and the September foal are also looking pretty good.

Scarlett and Hurricane

Damsel and Arrow

Aztec and Hurricane

Looking across Big Coulee to Sykes Ridge, I could see a number of horses with my binoculars. One family was for sure Bolder’s family. I think I also saw Littlefoot and his filly as well as some bachelors. There were also some horses impossible to identify due to the distance. I’ll look forward to getting up into that area to see those horses soon too. There still is the mystery of where the rest of the Burnt Timber horses are that I want to see, but that is some really rugged country with plenty of areas that make seeing or accessing them really difficult.

Published in: on February 28, 2008 at 3:34 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://pryorwild.wordpress.com/2008/02/28/february-24-2008/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

