Sam & Hightail

Tonight I finally was able to find Sam and his dun mare that we call Hightail. It is embarrassing – I am sure they were always in this area, but I didn’t really want to go exploring in there until I knew they were there for sure. Again, I wanted to find the dun mare because I had heard from others that she has a “hole” on the side of her back left hip.

After hiking through the vegetation, and crossing Crooked Creek, my dad and I caught up to them. As you can see, Hightail has excellent primitive markings (the stripes on her legs and back).

Sam and Hightail

The small puncture wound can be seen on her hip, but it seems to be healing quite well. Here are a couple of cropped down closeups of it.

Hightail

Hightail

I will continue to post updated pictures of her when I can.

Also, it looks as if her stallion, Sam, had a big fight sometime this season. The white stripe on his back and the white area in front of his back right leg are scars.

Sam

As a side note, Crooked Creek provides habitat for other animals besides the Pryor horses. The constant source of water and dense vegetation also allows animals like this doe and fawn to live there.

Deer

Published in: on August 28, 2007 at 10:00 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://pryorwild.wordpress.com/2007/08/28/sam-hightail/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

