Mountain Horses – Late August 2007

It’s hard to believe it’s been a week since I was on the mountain. It’s actually a little difficult to find the mountain horses now; they have moved to some of the more remote parts of the area. This isn’t a bad thing; it’s fun to think about what unknown things they could be doing. Because of this, I don’t have too much to write about.

On August 21, 2007, I was on the mountain with a great group of people; and we were lucky in seeing some great horses. We did have to really work to find them, though. One interesting thing we saw was that the young stallion Blue Moon (also called Flint) had a dun filly. The filly is a yearling from Trigger’s family. When I first saw them I was confused about which stallion I was seeing. After getting a full view of Blue Moon, though, I was able to figure out who I was looking at. Shortly after that, I ran into the BLM person who monitors the horses; and she told me who the filly was.

When I first saw them, they were in a small meadow. Blue Moon was very alert while the filly slept.

Flint/Blue Moon

GQ

A few hours later, I encountered the two again a couple miles away walking through the forest.

Flint

GQ

By the next day, the filly was no longer with him. I haven’t heard what happened to her, but I assume she went back to her parents.

Later on the 21st, we did actually see the filly’s family. Again, her father is Trigger.

Trigger

This year, Trigger has two new colt foals.

Trigger foal

Trigger foal

During the day, we also saw the families of Looking Glass, Coronado (Red Raven), Duke, Bolder, Mescalero, and Starman.

To find the horses now, my general strategy is to walk around and look for horses or the sign of their recent presence. More often than not, this strategy doesn’t help me to find the horses; it helps me to determine where they aren’t at. From this, it is often possible to make a pretty good guess as to where they are. At the end of the day, I did one last hike to try and find horses in the forest near one of their watering areas. I only found a little recent sign, and I assume that belonged to Blue Moon and the filly as I found them a short distance from it. The only other wildlife I ended up seeing on that hike was a buck deer. I turned a corner in the forest, and we both surprised each other. He stood there watching me while I stood there taking his picture. Because of the odd lighting in forests at sunset, the resulting photographs look a little surreal.

Buck

I hope to get up to the mountain again this weekend, and I hope to return with more stories.

Published in: on August 28, 2007 at 1:19 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://pryorwild.wordpress.com/2007/08/28/mountain-horses-late-august-2007/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

